My Entire DIY Skincare Routine

My Entire DIY Skincare Routine | Fairest of Them All: A Skincare Blog

My Entire DIY Skincare Routine | Fairest of Them All: A Skincare Blog

Sometimes life gets hard and budgets get tight, or other things in life take priority. Thus, the little luxuries in life–like beauty and skincare–fall on the back burner. However, this doesn’t mean our skin, or our health, should suffer. I look at these moments as a chance to get creative and make the most of Pinterest or skincare books like The Complete Book of Essential Oils, Skin Cleanse, and Homemade Beauty.

Most of these are my own creation, with these books as a reference or a guide. Many may think that making things yourself could end up costing you more than if you just bought conventional cosmetic products. Therefore, I decided to do a price point and timeframe for this skincare routine.

Conventional Products Routine: 1 month for $150-200 worth of products

(depending on whether I choose high-end or drugstore brands)

This DIY Routine: 2-3 months for $63-81 worth of ingredients

(this is keeping in mind that some of these ingredients I already owned, but if I were to have bought them all, it would have cost me $81 total)

Cleansers & Exfoliant

My Entire DIY Skincare Routine | Fairest of Them All: A Skincare Blog

My Entire DIY Skincare Routine | Fairest of Them All: A Skincare Blog

I was once told by a doctor that, although an over-excessive amount of fat and sugar is not good for you, if you are going to eat fat/cream/sugar, than eat the real stuff. None of that chemical, artificial, “low-calorie” stuff because it’s actually harder for your body to “read” and digest it. I think it’s similar with your skincare.

I feel like my skin can recognize and absorb these simple, homemade products more efficiently than any chemical, artificial cleansers or oils that “emulsify” and foam up. The simpler, the better, right? I feel like that’s the best theory behind this routine: Simple. Clean. Nourishing.

  1. Oil Cleanser:

2 cups (16 ounces) Coconut Oil, cold-pressed, extra virgin
15 drops Lavender Essential Oil

Scoop out with a small spoon and apply to dry face to “melt”/breakdown makeup and dirt. Rinse off with warm water.

2. Water-based Cleanser: Shea Butter Bar Soap + Chickpea Goat’s Milk Cleanser/Exfoliant

1/3 cup (2.5 ounces) Chickpea / Garbanzo Bean flour
2/3 cup (5 ounces) Powdered Goat’s Milk
15 drops Lavender Essential Oil
15 drops Sweet Orange Essential Oil

Mix the powder, flour, and oils together in a bowl. Then, place mixture in a jar/container. After applying lathered Shea Butter soap to face, pour a small amount of the powdered cleanser into your hand, then toss in a cupped handful of water, press hands together, and rub into a thick “cream” and apply to your face with the bar soap, then rinse off.

Boosters & Moisturizers

My Entire DIY Skincare Routine | Fairest of Them All: A Skincare Blog

My Entire DIY Skincare Routine | Fairest of Them All: A Skincare Blog

3. Toner: Apple Cider Vinegar Toner

4. Face Mist: Rose-Orange Face Mist

Amber spray bottle
8 ounces Rosewater
15 drops Rose hip Seed Oil
15 drops Sweet Orange Essential Oil

5. Exfoliating Serum

2 0unce glass Dropper bottle
1.5 ounces Avocado oil
10 drops Sweet Orange Essential oil
10 drops Rose Hip Seed Oil

6. Relaxing Face Oil

1 ounce glass dropper bottle
1 ounce Olive Oil
15 drops Lavender essential oil

7. SPF: Protective Moisturizer SPF 30

8. Spot Treatment

2 tsp. Raw Honey
6 drops Tea Tree Oil
Spot band-aids

Mix honey and oil in a small jar. Apply to pimple/blemish with a q-tip and cover with band-aid overnight.

Face Masks

3 DIY Masks | Fairest of Them All: A Skincare Blog

3 DIY Masks | Fairest of Them All: A Skincare Blog

9. Detox Mask

10. Hydrating Mask

11. Exfoliating Mask

So far, I’ve been doing this routine for a month now, and it’s worked just as effectively as any other traditional routine I’ve done in the past (if not, better sometimes). I feel more comfortable without any foundation on my face, and my skin feels like it’s enjoying these natural, simple ingredients and some time to really breathe.

 

 

 

One thought on “My Entire DIY Skincare Routine

  1. I LOVE this post! This makes trying extra ‘steps’ more affordable… and I totally subscribe to the ‘simpler ingredients are better’ philosophy : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

