My Top 5 Favorite Cold-Pressed Oils

My Top 5 Favorite Cold-Pressed Oils | Fairest of Them All: A Skincare Blog

My Top 5 Favorite Cold-Pressed Oils | Fairest of Them All: A Skincare Blog

1. Avocado Oil

Although olive oil is my favorite oil to cook with, Avocado oil is the first oil that got me hooked on natural skincare. Avocado oil is so beneficial to our skin because it is mostly made up of proteins and unsaturated fat. Because the third layer of our skin (subcutaneous tissue) is made up of mostly fat, this oil is absorbed deeply and easily into the skin. Thus, it is a great moisturizer for the winter or fun to use as a base oil in a DIY serum. I used this during my winter semester in Rexburg, ID. I would press it into my skin at night, after washing and toning, and every morning I woke up my skin looked so healthy! So much brighter and clearer. I like Olivado’s Cold-pressed Avocado oil ūüôā

2. Olive Oil

To be honest, I use olive oil more to cook than I do for my skin. (Obviously, my husband is a native Italian and would rather use it to cook and for medicinal purposes.) However, extra-virgin olive oil has so many properties that can protect your skin, help it to heal, and is also a big lipid, so it absorbs into the skin deeply.

I have Normal/Dry skin, and I love using olive oil in a sugar scrub that I make in the winter, for added moisture. I would not recommend olive oil for someone with oily skin because it will most-likely break you out. If you do use it, there is no need for a moisturizer. Just pat your skin dry after rinsing the oil off ¬†and carry on with your day. While this Oliveto Olive oil is fine for cooking, I would recommend¬†La Tourangelle, Bragg’s , or Colavita Premium Cold-pressed Extra Virgin Olive oil (these options have retained most of their nutrients because it is the “first press” of the olives and it hasn’t been diminished in any way by heat).

3. Coconut Oil

My third favorite oil is probably most people’s top-favorite oil because their are so many multi-uses for it‚Äďskin, hair, body, teeth, cooking, baking, etc. I have come to realize that it has¬†everything to do with the kind of coconut oil you purchase. There is a giant tub of coconut oil at Winco that my husband and I get for cooking and baking, but I would never think about putting it on my face. It is “organic,” but I’m pretty sure it has been processed through heat because it has a funny metallic smell to it.

Other brands, like Nutiva or Nature’s Way¬†have a wonderful, natural smell of coconut to them. It just makes you want to use it more and more often! I like using coconut oil to remove my makeup, or as a first-step oil-cleanse mixed with 1/3 castor oil.

4. Macadamia Nut Oil

Again, Macadamia Nut oil is used more for my hair, but it is also extremely rewarding¬†for your skin! You know how buttery and rich macadamia nuts are? Well, that’s exactly how the oil is. It is not heavy like olive oil, but it is strong with fatty acids which are very similar to human sebum, which the skin secretes in order to protect the skin.

After I delivered my daughter, my skin was so dry and dull-looking. I used this oil on my face day and night, as an oil detox, to help my skin gain some nutrients and moisture back. I also like to use a pea-size amount of this Olivado Macadamia Nut Oil on the ends of my hair after I get out of the shower to keep from getting split ends and brittle hair. Last time I went in to get my hair done, the man cutting my hair just kept staring at the ends of my hair saying, “Your hair looks so healthy!….it’s so healthy!” I assume it must be working ūüėČ

5. Grapeseed Oil

Last, is this beautiful blessing from God! (The grapeseed oil pictured above is not nearly as wonderful as the cleaner, expeller-pressed, extra-virgin grapeseed oils I will recommend). Grape seed oil is the ultimate anti-aging oil. The grape itself has so many elements to it that help slow the aging process within our cells and organs. Using it topically will help you rebuild collagen after exfoliating, or if you are suffering with scars.

I used this oil as a massage oil for my husband. Just add some lavender oil and it’s that much more aiding to your skin and body as a whole. I would HIGHLY recommend checking out one of these purer Grapeseed oils by¬†La Tourangelle or Heritage.

 

What’s your favorite oil? What do you use it for?

Let me know in a comment below!

Leave a Reply

